Organisers and Committees


The conference is organised under the auspices of the:

•  The Institute for Food Analysis and Research (IIAA) of the University of Santiago de Compostela (USC), created in 1993, conducts research on food and environmental analysis, besides training professionals in these fields and advising different private companies and administrations. The USC is one of the oldest Universities in Spain with over 500 years of history. Today, the USC has more than 40,000 students and is the main University in the region of Galicia. In 2009, the USC received the accreditation of Campus of International Excellence by the Ministry of Education, recognising it as one of the most prestigious universities in Spain, through its project Campus Vida.

•  The University of Zaragoza  (UNIZAR) -founded in 1542- is a continuously growing institution with Engineering degrees since early seventies. Nowadays UNIZAR, with more than 40,000 students and more than 2,500 high quality researchers is well positioned among National and European Universities. Part of the research activity of UNIZAR is developed within five Research Institutes. One of them, the "Aragon Institute of Engineering Research (I3A)", hosts the group of Food Packaging.  Since 2012 UNIZAR is part of the Campus of International Excellence, called Campus Iberus, the strategic alliance of four Spanish universities (UNIZAR, Universidad Pública de Navarra, Universidad de la Rioja and Universidad de Lleida).

• The "International Association of Environmental Analytical Chemistry" (IAEAC) is a worldwide operating organisation aiming at promoting and maintaining scientific excellence in the area of environmental analytical chemistry. The activities of IAEAC are designed to provide scientists with the opportunity to exchange cutting edge research results in environmental sciences and to provide training in the most advanced analytical technologies. To accomplish these goals, the organisation has established a series of regularly occurring symposia, workshops and short courses.

The ISEAC series began in 1971 with a scientific meeting organised to provide a forum on how analytical chemists might contribute to the recent "environmental revolution". It has, therefore, more than 40 years of a long and successful history, evolving from that initial meeting into an organisation that has a relevant worldwide impact. In 2014, Food Analytics was also integrated as part of ISEAC.


  • José Benito Quintana (Environment)
  • University of Santiago de Compostela


  • Cristina Nerín (Food)
  • University of Zaragoza


  • Carmela Casais
  • Inma Carpinteiro
  • Iria González-Mariño
  • Rosa Montes
  • María Ramil
  • Rosario Rodil
  • Isaac Rodríguez
  • Elisa Rubí


  • Joan Albaigés - CID-CSIC, Centre for Research and Development, Barcelona (Spain)
  • Luiz Felippe de Alencastro - Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Lausanne (Switzerland)
  • José Broekaert - University of Hamburg, Hamburg (Germany)
  • Sara Castiglioni - IRCCS, Institute of Pharmacological Research "Mario Negri", Milan (Italy)
  • Rafael Cela - University of Santiago de Compostela, Santiago de Compostela (Spain)
  • Adrian Covaci - University of Antwerp, Antwerp (Belgium)
  • Chris Elliott - Queens University of Belfast, Belfast (UK)
  • Néstor Etxebarría - University of the Basque Country, Bilbao (Spain)
  • Imma Ferrer - University of Colorado at Boulder, Boulder, CO (USA)
  • Stuart Harrad - University of Birmingham, Birmingham (UK)
  • Félix Hernández- University Jaume I, Castellón (Spain)
  • Juliane Hollender - EAWAG, Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology, Dübendorf & ETH Zurich, Zurich (Switzerland)
  • Ron Hoogenboom - RIKILT Wageningen University & Research, Wageningen (The Netherlands)
  • Miren López de Alda - IDAEA-CSIC, Institute of Environmental Assessment and Water Research, Barcelona (Spain)
  • Purificación López-Mahía - University of A Coruña, A Coruña (Spain)
  • Elena Martínez-Carballo - University of Vigo, Ourense (Spain)
  • Maria Rosaria Milana - Istituto Superiore di Sanità, Rome (Italy)
  • Manuel Miró - University of the Balearic Islands, Mallorca (Spain)
  • Roberto Pilloton - CNR-IC, Institute of Crystallography, Rome (Italy)
  • Thorsten Reemtsma - UFZ, Helmholtz Center for Environmental Research, Leipzig (Germany)
  • Martin Rose - University of Manchester, Manchester (UK)
  • Kevin V. Thomas - University of Queensland, Brisbane (Australia) & NIVA, Norwegian Institute for Water Research, Oslo (Norway)
  • Renato Zanella - Santa María Federal University, Santa María (Brazil)